Chris Hancock – Senior Developer

Chris started working with Navision in 2001. He worked for nearly a decade at a global NAV partner in Barcelona (as a developer) and London (as a consultant). After that, Chris spent another decade working as a freelance NAV developer on large end-user projects.

Chris is delighted to now be at TVision because he can bring his own skills and experience to the company, as well as learn lots about Business Central and SaaS from a wonderful team.


Name someone you admire and why
I admire highly talented people, especially musicians. Anyone who operates on a whole other level and makes a difficult thing look very easy. For example, Paul McCartney apparently woke up after having a dream about his mother and the song “Let It Be” was there in his head. He just wrote it down before he forgot it – I find that amazing!

What’s a typical day like for you?
I have chosen to work part time at TVision, to give a different work-life balance. Typically, I work in the mornings and after school pick up I do family stuff with my wife and daughter. Yesterday after school I took my daughter to her piano lesson, and today we might go swimming. Later I’ll walk the dog and make dinner.

Do you have any skills or talents that most people don’t know about?
I can play the harmonium, which is an Indian instrument a bit like a small piano and is usually used in Hindu and Sufi devotional music. I love singing too. I used to sing in a modern men’s choir. We performed once at Port Eliot music festival in Cornwall and I sang a solo in front of maybe 1,000 people. Recently I’ve started composing and arranging my own music using software and virtual instruments (i.e. using my piano to play the sound of a cello or electric guitar etc.) – great fun!

If you could be anywhere other than here, right this minute, where would you be?
My favourite place in the world I’ve been to is Nepal. The Himalayas are where I feel most at home, although I haven’t been there for ages. I’m a lot older now though than when I last went, so the physical effort and discomfort of it might be much more challenging now.

Flashback to when you were 10 years old. What do you want to be when you grow up?
An astronaut, which turned out for me into a lifelong fascination with astrophysics, space exploration and planetary science.

Finish this sentence. On Sunday mornings, you can usually find me…
Making pancakes for my family, walking the dog, and doing whatever family life brings me that morning.

What do you think are the best skills that you bring to your job?
An ability to quickly see and understand the essence of a problem and how solve it. I also really enjoy the challenge, design and creativity of developing software. And I genuinely enjoy helping other people too.

Name something surprising on your bucket list
To visit Scandinavia: Iceland and the far north of Norway and Sweden.

Describe a goal that you want to accomplish in the next year
We’re lucky to own a few acres of woodland in Somerset near where we live, and I’d like to build a wooden platform there, suspended between some trees, to have a space to lie down and relax.

What publications do you regularly read?
I sometimes read New Scientist magazine and listen to some politics podcasts.

What are you happiest doing, when you’re not working?
Being a husband and a dad. And for hobbies my happy place is with my headphones on making music. I love being in mountains but where I live there aren’t any.

What are some causes you care about?
The protection of planet Earth, girls’ and women’s equality and rights, children’s welfare, animal welfare

What do you do with friends in your spare time?
I don’t have a huge amount of spare time. When I meet friends we usually drink tea and try to have a conversation while being frequently interrupted by our kids.

What would be your personal motto?
Be grateful for what you have.

Other TVision team bios